Voted Yet?

I, for one, have not yet voted, but am anxiously awaiting 5:00 so I can leave here to head to the polling area.  What a blessing to be a part of history.  Sure, we all have our candidates picked out (or at least I hope we do by now), and, yes, there will be one winner and one loser, but in the end, all that matters is that Jesus is still on the throne and in the business of loving all of us!

As I sit at work, trying to look busy, and thinking of the countless other things I could be doing with my time than sitting, trying to look busy, I’m thinking all the while about Saralynn.  Wondering what she’s up to at day care, thinking of something creative to feed her, and thinking of how big she’s getting.  I’m reminded of the times I would hold her, just watching her chest move up and down as she breathed.  The first time she laughed.  Those sweet coos and smiles.  And, yet, I’m also thinking about the day she’ll cast her first vote.  Sure, it’s years from now, but then again, it’ll be here before I know it.  What am I doing to make the world a better place for her?  In my opinion, the presidential race can be summed up best, for all of us, in the words of Edward Everette Hale.  What will you, the one and only you, do to make the world a better place, for all those around you?

“I am only one, but I am one.  I cannot do everything, but I can do something.  And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.”- Edward Everette Hale, minister and author

Leave a Reply

