Coming

Yesterday began the season of Advent.  I have to admit, I don’t know that much about Advent, but am looking forward to learning.  I remember as a child, I had a felt calendar that we hung out at Christmas that had 25 “pockets”- and in each, Mom always tucked a piece of candy.  At some point during the busy routine of the day, we’d go to the calendar, take out the piece of candy, eat it, of course, and then prepare for the next day.  It was our way of “counting down” to the big day!  I’m sure she shared the meaning of Advent with me, but I don’t guess it ever really “stuck”.  Our church has begun the tradtion of lighting the candles on the Advent wreath in the past couple of years, and this year is no exception.  Yesterday’s candle was the Candle of Promise.  Wow.  What a way to start it off.  The entire purpose of this crazy, hectic season is wrapped up in a promise- from God to us.  He’ll be with us, always!  He came in the form of a vulnerable baby, and I must admit, the story never resonated with me as much as it has now that I am a parent myself.  The Miracle of the Season is so real to me this year, and I’m blessed to be a witness to the Love and Protection that came through that precious Baby!

As Advent literally means “coming” or “anticipation”, what are you anticipating this Christmas?  I, for one, am waiting to watch promises unfold in the lives of those around me.  So, during this Advent season, I hope to spotlight special people in my life, and ask you to join in praying for those people.

Today, Dec. 1st, please join my family in lifting up a prayer of thanksgiving for Chad, Katie, and Charlie Cottle.  The Cottles have been a constant source of love and support since they arrived in LaGrange.  Of course, since Chad and Garrett have known each other much longer than that, the support goes way back, but we are grateful for his family.  Katie is the purest, kindest friend I have ever known.  She is a constant source of encouragement to me, even while beautifully working through struggles of her own.  Chad is a source of calm and trustworthy advice for Garrett, for which I am forever grateful.  Charlie melted Saralynn’s heart long ago, and is often times one of the few ways we can “encourage” her out the door to church- “we’ll see Charlie”.  This precious couple so selflessly gives of their time, talent, and treasure for the Kingdom and the imperfect people that go along with it.  When I find myself tired and a bit dismayed at all going on around me, I think back on conversations and read encouraging emails from both Chad and Katie, and move on past myself, doing what I can to help tell the Story. 

Please join me in continually praying for Chad and Katie’s pregnancy, that God would put His almighty Hand of Protection on their precious baby until it is time for us to meet him or her- sometime around the end of June.  Thank Him, as we are, for the beautiful miracle we’ll witness through this family and their journey.  Chad, Katie, and Charlie, we await with anticipation with you the journey that is to come for all of us, and are overwhelmed by your love for all of us.  We love you more than you know and are grateful to be part of your lives. 

Praying with anticipation, of what is to come for us all, in this season and always…
The Pelts

1 Comment

  1. Katie Cottle said,

    December 5, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Mary Beth, You are too kind! We are so thankful for your friendship and prayers!!


Leave a Reply

