The Absence of Blogging

So, in case anyone noticed, I’ve been a little behind on the blog lately.  Not for any particular reason, just behind.  So, here I was, trying to get my thoughts together to pick up where I left off, when it hit me- my idea to recount some of the things I’m thankful for was, and is, a good idea, but shouldn’t be something I think about in order to blog about.  Those things should radiate out of me anyway.  Do they?  Can you tell by seeing me that I’m grateful for the things I’ve already mentioned?  I surely do hope so!

My heart is literally racing as I think of the things I’m thankful for.  Little things.  Decorating the Christmas tree with my ever-so-chatty 2 year-old… “Mommy, an apple”.  “Mommy, a train”.  As we list out each and every ornament we’re putting on the tree.  So thankful.  Thankful for the precious voice that shouts “look, the sunshine” as my dad puts the star on the top of the tree.  (Our star has the wise men going to see Baby Jesus on it- I promise to put pictures on the site as soon as I figure out how- instructions, anyone?- I’m not the techie in our family).

I’m thankful for a husband that can fix anything.  The dimmer switch in the dining room is on the fritz, and he’s fixing it today.  Whew!  Thanks, honey!

I’m thankful for my grandparents and their influence on my life.  I’m grateful that they enjoy the loudness and chaos that sometimes abounds when Saralynn shows up for weekly visit on Fridays.  What they see as music to their ears is to some people chatter and clammer, but they love it.  I’m thankful Saralynn knows and loves her “Eemaw” (Memaw) and Papa and loves to go to their house.  She can give you directions- “go dis way Mimi”, pointing all the while.

I’m thankful to be a part of the most amazing church ever.  This past weekend we exprienced Jesus during our “Tonight, Heaven Touches Earth” musical.  I’m thankful that God calls talented people like Jay and Amy Rouse to use their gifts to advance the kingdom.  I’m grateful to be a part of the choir that helps lead people to the throneroom of the King of Kings!

I got to sing at our amazing 11:11 service, for which I am extremely grateful.  I sang “Breath of Heaven”, and even though that song is a staple at Christmas like “Amazing Grace” is every other day of the year, I messed up the words.  Oh, well.  God never asked for perfect gifts.  He asked for gifts of all kinds, that He perfects in His timing.  I’m just grateful for the opportunity to use my talent- to be able to take my gift and lay it at His feet.  Thanks, Chad and leadership team, for the opportunity.  I pray God listened and unwrapped the gift of my song with all the excitement with which I presented it to Him.

So many things for which to be thankful this season.  The list goes on and on and on…  Little things, big things, things in between.  (paying homage to the one-and-only Dr. Seuss). 

But, most of all, Jesus, I’m thankful for you- thankful that You find it worth Your time to listen to my rambling heart that often can’t articulate what I want to say.  Thankful that You can form my thoughts into words and actions that You can use. 

Friends, are you thankful?  If so, I’d love to know what you’re thankful for.  Comments welcome!

Leave a Reply

